The Institute of Modern Languages Research is part of the School of Advanced Study, whose governance is detailed on its website. The Institute is advised by its Advisory Council, whose current membership is as follows:

Professor Janice Carruthers (Queen's University, Belfast) - AHRC Leadership Fellow in Modern Languages/French Linguistics

Ex officio Members
Professor Catherine Davies - Director, Institute of Modern Languages Research
Professor Rick Rylance - Dean, School of Advanced Study
Professor Linda Newson - Director, Institute of Latin American Studies
Dr Richard Espley - Senate House Library

Appointed Members drawn from Universities or Similar Institutions within the UK
Professor Kathryn Bachelor (UCL) - Translation Studies
Professor Tony Chafer (Portsmouth) - French/African Studies
Professor Hannah Diamond (Cardiff) - French
Professor Jane Everson (Royal Holloway, London) - Italian/Fellows Representative
Professor Margaret Littler (Manchester) - German
Professor Joanna Drugan (East Anglia) - Translation Studies/UCML
Dr Julia Sallabank (SOAS) - Multilingualism
Professor Claire Taylor (Liverpool) - Hispanic Studies
Professor Galin Tihanov (Queen Mary, London) - Comparative/East European

Appointed Members (Stakeholders)
Dr Alice Béja (French Embassy)
Ms Regina Duarte (Portuguese Embassy)
Ms Katalin-Tünde Huber (Austrian Cultural Forum)
Professor Neil Kenny (British Academy)
Dr Ruth Krahe (German Academic Exchange Service - DAAD)
Dr Ann Lewis (MHRA)
Mr Ignacio Peyró (Instituto Cervantes)

Appointed Members (Libraries)
Dr Pardaad Chamsaz (British Library)

Appointed Members (Institute Staff)
Dr Godela Weiss-Sussex (German/CCWW)

Appointed Members (Students)
Mr Federico Filauri (IMLR)