‘Ich bin ein Migrant’ – Meet our Star Student Writers and Authors

Thursday 16 February 2017

Award-winning authors, Anja Tuckermann (Berlin) and Ulrike Ulrich (Zurich), will take part in the celebration on 1 March 2017 for the winners of this year’s German writing competition.

Submissions for the 3rd annual writing challenge for learners and lovers of German, organised by the IMLR and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), came from a range of entrants from all walks of life. Of the 69 entries, 39 came from secondary school students and sixth-formers, and 16 from undergraduates. The judges commented that submissions in all categories were surprising, touching, complex, and a joy to read.

At a time when the media have been full of heart-rending tales of human flight, entrants were asked to continue storylines on this theme in German. Launchpad texts were provided by top German-speaking authors, Anja Tuckermann and Ulrike Ulrich.

The prize-giving event at Senate House will provide an opportunity to listen to the winning and running-up entries in each category and a chance to hear how the authors themselves would have continued and ended their tales. All are welcome to attend.

This year’s competition has built on the successes of the 2014 poetry competition organised in tandem with the British Museum’s ‘Germany – Memories of a Nation’ exhibition, and the 2015 translation competition based on Annett Gröschner’s novel Walpurgistag. Run jointly by the DAAD London and the IMLR, the competition is supported by the Goethe Institute, and the German and Swiss Embassies in London.

The prize-giving will be held at 5.30 pm in Room 349, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU. To attend, please register at http://www.sas.ac.uk/events/event/6979

Winners and Runners-Up

Secondary schools: (1) Victoria Adjei, North London Collegiate School; (2) Ellen Steiner, Sevenoaks School; (3) Kate Shilling, Simon Langton Girls' Grammar School; (4) Maximilian Goehmann, Earlscliffe Sixth Form College

Undergraduates: (1) Marie-Louise James, BA in Modern Languages, University of Cambridge; (2) Patricia Laszlo, International Business Languages with Management, Edinburgh Napier University; (3) Elizabeth Toole, German and Spanish, Bristol University; (4) Daniel Taylor, BA in Modern Languages (German and Celtic), University of Oxford

Postgraduates: (1) Sheela Mahadevan, MSt in Modern Languages (German), University of Oxford; (2) Sarah Stutt, PhD in Creative Writing, University of Hull; (3) Alasdair Park, MA Applied Translation, Aberystwyth University

Native Speakers: (1) Eva Malessa; (2) Julian Ingendaay, Dallam School, Cumbria; (3) Florian Remele, MSt in Modern Languages (German) at Somerville College, University of Oxford; (4) Dr Catherine Heszer, SOAS, University of London

Others: (1) Emma Walkers, Bilborough Sixth Form College; (2) Dr Sandra Leaton Gray, UCL; (3) Dr Camilla Leathem, Freie Universität Berlin

Ulrike Ulrich (left); Anja Tuckermann (right)

Ulrike Ulrich (left); Anja Tuckermann (right)